self-love and self-acceptance

I began to think about the difference between self-love and self-acceptance. While they seem like they go hand in hand, I’m not so sure.

You see, a person could finally accept themselves, flaws and all but still not have a feeling of love coursing through their body. If one defines love as the source from which all Creation derives then we certainly have a lot to work toward in terms of loving ourselves. Sure, there are certain days when I love this thing or that thing about myself. But to really love oneself, through every cell is not an easy thing to do.

We can see that it is a difficult task just by looking around at all of the self-help books and workshops that are offered. People all over the planet seem to believe that self-love is extremely important, that we must be able to love ourselves in order to do anything else.

Do you agree with this? Do you believe that before all else we must have self-love?

I’m not saying that I have all of the answers but to some extent I disagree with this. I believe if we can tackle self acceptance than we have come a mighty long way. It occurred to me the other day when I was doing a self-evaluation of myself. And, in complete neutrality I realized that while I may not be pleased with every part of myself, my life, my being…I accept it. There is not a feeling or emotion attached to the acceptance, it just is.

Self-acceptance can be a very calm place to be, like when meditating. It allows for space in the mind to cease judging and analyzing. It is a peaceful place to rest and reside.

Sure, having self-love AND self-acceptance is the ultimate goal in many cases, but each sentiment holds a unique value.

What do you think?

Om,
Renata

 

Leave a Reply

